Deleting Staff Users

We previously covered how to grant Dispatchur access to new staff members and how to adjust their user privileges as their roles evolve.  But as employees move on to new opportunities, the need arises to remove former staff from your account and prevent unauthorized access.

To delete a staff user, select “Delete as staff” from the staff profile screen:

Screenshot: "Delete as staff" button

Confirm you want to delete that staff user:

Screenshot: "Delete Staff User" confirm dialog

Two things to note:

  1. If a staff user is also a rider in your service, only staff privileges are removed.  Rider privileges will be preserved.
  2. The service owner cannot be deleted.

Note the message confirming the staff user has been deleted successfully:

Screenshot: staff user delete confirmation message

Ding Ding: Web Notifications!

Notifications screenshot 1
We imagined Dispatchur from the very beginning as a software platform that gives transit organizations real-time insight into their operations and riders up-to-date information on their transportation. This requires that we be able to push events from our servers as they happen to the appropriate users’ devices.
Today, we take a big step toward that vision by enabling web notifications.
Notifications screenshot 2
With Dispatchur open in your browser and your device online, you will be notified of the following events the instant they occur:
If any of these events happen while you’re offline, we will save them and deliver them to you the next time you visit Dispatchur. If you’re signed in via more than one device, we will deliver your notifications to each device but keep them in sync so you only have to read each notification once.
While we are pushing just a handful of event types to start, we will be adding more to round out Dispatchur into the real-time platform it’s designed to be. Stay tuned for new notifications to keep dispatchers apprised of drivers’ progress in the field and riders informed of any changes made to their transportation.

Introducing Staff User Management

staff_list
As a collaborative software platform, Dispatchur empowers members of transit organizations to work together to provide a great customer experience. This introduces the need to ensure the right users have access to relevant information and can take appropriate actions within the software.
With Dispatchur’s staff user management capabilities, service owners now have the ability to issue logins with privileges suitable to each member’s role within the organization. To create a staff login, select “Staff” from the left navigation. Then select “Add Staff User” to the right.
staff_user_navigation
Begin by entering the email address of your staff member. If your staff member is already a Dispatchur user, you will be granting his login staff access to your service; otherwise, a new login will be created.  To control what actions your staff member is allowed to take, simply select the roles–you can choose more than one–matching those your staff member performs within your organization.
add_staff_user
Here are the privileges associated with each role:
  • Dispatcher: manages transport schedule and riders; can view (but not manage) other staff users
  • Driver: views transport schedule and can record missed rides as necessary; can view (but not manage) riders and their individual rides
  • Rider administrator: manages riders and can view their rides
As your staffs’ responsibilities evolve—for example, when your top driver transitions to dispatcher—it only takes a few clicks to adjust their privileges. Simply locate your staff member in the staff list and select “View”.
view_staff_user
Select “Edit” from the staff profile page.
edit_staff_user
Select or deselect roles as necessary, making sure to have at least one role enabled. When you’re done, select “Update staff user”.
update_staff_user
We’re excited to see this update enable effortless collaboration in your organization, so please let us know what you think and how else we can make Dispatchur work better for your team!